307 chevy camshaft selection?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flipper_1938

He recycles the right way
I've never built a mild small block chevy before, but I guess there is a first for everything.

The engine is a 307 chevy that will be going into a Toyota land cruiser. The engine currently has a 2 barrel carb on it and I'm thinking about keeping it for gas mileage reasons.

Anybody have a cam recommendation for a good running, good gas mileage, small small-block?

Anybody run any of these in a small cube motor? prices look good. Thinking most about the bold ones

http://www.competitionproducts.com/Elgin-Chevrolet-SB-Complete-Cam-Kits/products/2636/1/0

Elgin, Hyd. Flat Tappet Cam Kit, Chev SB, .368/.398
Chev SB
Lift: .368/.398
Duration: 250/260
Duration @ .050": 184/194
Lobe Separation: 104 LC
Improved bottom & torque. Low rpm only.

Elgin, Hydraulic Flat Tappet Complete Cam Kit, Chev SB
Chev SB
Lift: .385/.408
Duration: 258/269
Duration @ .050": 190/200
Lobe Separation: 112 LC
Smooth idle. Excellent torque, good economy.

Chev SB
Lift: .390/.410
Duration @ .050": 194/203
Lobe Separation: 116 LC
'70 350/300HP (GM #3896929)

Chev SB
Lift: .398/.420
Duration: 260/270
Duration @ .050": 194/204
Strong torque, smooth idle.

Chev SB
Lift: .420/.443
Duration: 278/288
Duration @ .050": 204/214
Smooth idle. Improved power. Good low and mid-range.

Elgin, Hydraulic Flat Tappet Complete Cam Kit, Chev SB, 214/224, 288/298, .443/.465, 112 LC
Chev SB
Lift: .443/.465
Duration: 288/298
Duration @ .050": 214/224
Mild idle. Good low end torque. Stock converter OK.

Last edited:
i have had good luck with three different cams in a mild 307, one is the 300 horse 327 cam, the other two were comp cams 268 high energy and the 270 magnum. i have ran bigger but i wouldn't call them mild. good luck.

Fipper, this is the one I prefer to use for an every day driver and mileage.