Hydraulics

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
cool link! Funny how those old refuge truck pictures bring back childhood memories :)
My 39 dodge has Gar Wood hydraulics on it too. Seems the company was a pretty big player back in the day

You gonna have a tilting bed? Or thinking more like a roll back, push back and tilt?

I'm still studying what can be done. I'm hoping to have a usable dump for moving material out here because we're building a barn and house after that. It'll come in handy. But also considering making it where I can load a vehicle on it too. We'll see!
I've got 2 hoists here already. One is an old electric over hydraulic that I took apart, cleaned it up, and it runs. The other is on the 46 Chevy already but it is driven by PTO. Not sure if I can make that work or not yet by swapping out the PTO for electric over hydraulic, but have a new system for trying on the way.

dumps

I have an electric kit on my 3/4 pickup and on my flat bed dually. They are slower than the Pto ones I have used . our 46 1 1/2 ton chevy has a pto pump still on it. we took off the sissor since the cyl was missing. My son is a fireman and wants to build a parade fire truck and use the pto to spray water, but would have to drain the pump after use.

I have an electric kit on my 3/4 pickup and on my flat bed dually. They are slower than the Pto ones I have used . our 46 1 1/2 ton chevy has a pto pump still on it. we took off the sissor since the cyl was missing. My son is a fireman and wants to build a parade fire truck and use the pto to spray water, but would have to drain the pump after use.

Sounds like a cool idea. Those PTO pumps are rated at 1000psi..should be able to figure something![cl

I've seen some old tractors use a power steering pump to power a hydraulic system before. Works faster than an electric pump with better pressure.