whats the best manual tranny for a flathead?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hunter1111

I am new to the site so please dont flame me if im asking something that has been asked before. (like they do on the hamb) .... I have a 34 ford pickup and am debating on rebuilding a flathead or a nailhead but before i decide which to rebuild im trying to do some research on what will come out easier and cheaper and a big factor is the transmission and adapters.

I have been told t5s are the best but i would like more opinions.
I was thinking of finding a donor ford mustang or ranger so i would have the tranny, driveshaft, and rearend. I do autobody for a living but when it comes to mechanics i need it as simple as i can get it :) Pulling an assembly would help alot so what year of cars/trucks etc is recomended?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, Thanks Hunter

A T5 from a late stang is a good pick but.... shifter location is way back to far. This can be fix'd with tail shaft from S10 with manual speedo drive. Or....good ole fashion muncie 4 speed will do......lots of gear combos.

Not sure what width the stang rear is but the 8.8 is a good choice. Another option is 9" ford.

Just depends on your source for parts.

Ratty 46

So when you say a stang tranny with a s10 tailshaft you actually are using two trannys to make one? Would it be better to just have an s10 tranny?

I have a 3 spd muncie in my truck currently but its non synchronized and has issues. I would like to see what other people are doing. I just dont know much about this kind of stuff.

Thanks, Hunter
[email protected]

I recently went this specific way except I was able to find a S10 trans with the manual sending unit for the speedo. A couple of people make an adaptor to couple it all together.