New old guy from Illinois

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gene49

Hey all,
Looking forward to having a new place to hang around.
Been building Rat Rods before Rat Rods were popular. I'm a retired self employed welder, officially retired in 2018, but did part time morning the 1st year after that, then did a year of catch me and maybe I'll do welding for you after that.
Started out dirt track racing Mopars. Then did the performance car thing, and a bit of street racing. Then built a 35 Dodge 2 door sedan from a pile of rusty cut up sheet metal and drove it 66,000 miles in 7 years. Been a bunch of hot rods since then. I build them to drive them.
Currently I have a 48 Plymouth business coupe on a Dakota chassis we have driven pretty close to 100,000 miles since April 2012. The latest edition is a 49 Dodge pickup on a Dakota 4x4 chassis. Its been on the road since June 2021 and is my full time driver, even through the snow and salt covered north west IL.

Attachments

• 100_0906.jpg
    100_0906.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 20
  • 100_0908.jpg
    100_0908.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 14
  • 100_0910.jpg
    100_0910.jpg
    101.1 KB · Views: 14
  • 48 coupe 001.jpg
    48 coupe 001.jpg
    194.7 KB · Views: 17
  • 100_0838.jpg
    100_0838.jpg
    100.4 KB · Views: 14
  • 100_0825.jpg
    100_0825.jpg
    113 KB · Views: 15
  • P1010065.jpg
    P1010065.jpg
    120.6 KB · Views: 14
Never seen a 48 Plymouth look so cool. My first car was a '48 Dodge Fluid Drive coupe, paid 80 bucks for it. That was in 1972. It was creampuff solid and ran great. I never liked those cars until I owned one, what a blast.

When I met my wife in 1974, we were going out on our first date, she saw the car, said lets take my car, you can drive. That was the first time I drove a brand new Vega. :rolleyes:

Anyway, welcome.