First Build

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seabee1989

Hello everyone,My name is mike and this is my first project. I just recently acquired this project. I am starting with what i was told is a 32 ford frame, a 12 bolt Chevy rear end( not sure what gears are in it as because i haven't pulled it apart yet ) I have a stroked 305, and a Muncie 4 speed tranny to put behind it. I am planing on building a roadster pick up or possibly going with a roadster flat bed! I haven't quite decided. I have a Bucket body and a 27' plymouth cowl. if i go with a pick up, I have a 55 Chevy pick up bed, which i will go with a little bit longer of a bed than the average Bucket. I hope to learn a lot and hope anyone who reads this can give me tips, pointers and ideas on some common parts used, gears, suspension, etc.
IMG_5742_zpsf6c33676.jpg

IMG_5739_zps22934368.jpg

IMG_5733_zpseb4bcec1.jpg

IMG_5745_zpsc4d06be1.jpg

IMG_5746_zpsa279696e.jpg

I think that would make a real nice roadster pickup!

The frame is not a ford frame though. Ford did not have the parallel front springs instead using a single transverse spring. Someone will come along and identify what it is I'm sure. Could be a Chevy or Dodge.

That said, that frame could be cleaned up real nice. Post lots of pictures!

Looks like a good start! If you can get the axle code off of the passenger side I can try to help ID the rear end for you... I think some of the other guys should be able to help with the frame ID, I am really not sure on the frame..

Thank you, I will pull that number off, also I am relieved that it is not a 32 ford frame due to the rarity of them, I didn't want to be the guy to ruin a gem!

Cool looking project! That's an interesting looking bucket body. :cool: