Not really an ivyleaguer

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ivyleague

Hello all,

I'd like to start by getting my username clarified. It's not because I am an alum of an elite ivy league school. Far from it, I'm a simple school teacher from the Black Hills of SD. My user name is a play on my last name, I have 3 boys ages 11-16 and we are referred to by other people as the "ivyleague".

I'm hoping the good people at rrr's can help me and the boys get started with a few idea's of where to start. I have what I believe is a gold mine of opportunities. My in-laws have lived on a ranch for 5 generations and have accumulated a lot of "junk", but really could be treasure.

I'm looking to ultimately get multiple rat-rods going but I just don't know where to start. My boys and I are pretty handy and as you will see we have plenty of options.

Here's some of the items for consideration that we could mish-mash.

33 ford bb truck with original flathead v8
36 chevy 4 door master deluxe one with straight 6
50 Dodge pickup
55 Dodge pickup
55 Chevy pickup (this one should be restored and not ratted, it's in pristine shape)
56 Mercury Custom 4door flathead v8 (I think)
68 Impala custom (no motor) 3 speed (no rear end)
73 Chevy 1/2 ton 4wd 350 automatic
84 Ford f150 4speed 4wd (engine)?
84 Dodge D50
86 Chevy s10 extended cab tired 2.8 5speed 4wd
89 Toyota cressida (was vandalized)

I would like to rat the 36 chevy 1st and would like to make it as easy as possible for the first time and am hoping to appeal to the expertise of the fine people of rrr to help get started.

Thanks in advance and for reading this far.