Stick Welder, good enough?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motorpsykler

Hi guys, I'm new to this hot rod game. My question is, can I use my Lincoln A/C stick welder to box my frame and set up a suicide front end? Or do I need to start hiding money from the wife to pick up a 220 MIG welder?
I'm pretty decent with the stick welder, I made a trailer with it and most recently I modified the fishing boat trailer by fabbing up a folding tongue. What do you guys think?

I am an old stick welder from way back. I remember when that was the choice for everything. Only big factories had migs, and they were big and expensive. If you go back and look at anything built before about 1975, it was probably welded with a stick or gas. If you are good at it, it will be fine.

to me, stick is easier to use for welding the heavy stuff, but i'm also very amatuer at this point as i've only just started learning how to metal work.

As the guys said, stick welding is still a very acceptable means of joining metal together, and in the right hands can produce a pretty and strong weld.

When I built the frame for my '27 my Son was not a welder yet, so I had to tack weld stuff and pay a weld shop to do the final welding. I found a guy who was a welding instructor at a local vo-tech, paid him to weld the frame for me. I told him I wanted it mig welded, because that was the latest buzz word. He laughed and said he was going to arc weld it. I wanted the welds to be pretty, and he gauranteed me they would be.

Long story short, when I picked up the frame it looked like a machine had done them. They were perfect stacks of nickels. So yes, not everyone has to have a mig or tig to build great stuff.

Don