Looking for a welder...

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XtremeS10

Well since I am very close to buying a cab and really determined in every bit of me to build my dream rat, I figured I would at least need to be able to tack weld and work with what I have as far as that goes, trying to jump in head first so I figured I better buy a welder. Have a good close friend who is a professional welder look up a couple of deals on some welders and figured I might ask you guys what your thoughts are for me being I'm a newbie at all this... we found a Lincoln mig 135 amp with an argon cylinder for $600 comes with a cart, mask, gloves, shirt and all that... I also have a bid at a solar welder 2175 with no gas or accessories for $450, and a Hobart with a cart and argon and a mask for $800, all a bit more than I really want to spend being I need as much cash I can to put into the rod being I'm on a bottom dollar budget, what do you guys think sounds like the best deal?

When it comes to a welder buy the absolute best and most powerful you can afford. Cheap welders are junk. They will only frustrate you and inhibit your abilities. The straight argon cylinder is useless unless you are welding aluminum, and even then most larger cylinders must be under contract to be refilled, so that is likely not a purchase factor. You will need a 75/25 cylinder for most steel work.

When it comes to a welder buy the absolute best and most powerful you can afford. Cheap welders are junk. They will only frustrate you and inhibit your abilities. The straight argon cylinder is useless unless you are welding aluminum, and even then most larger cylinders must be under contract to be refilled, so that is likely not a purchase factor. You will need a 75/25 cylinder for most steel work.