My 74 Vega... No rat project for me yet...

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coostv

I was going to start a ground up rat project last fall when this little Vega fell into my lap. I was over to my inlaws checking out my father in law's latest project (this Vega) when he mentioned he was thinking about going a different direction... I instinctively (it is a knee jerk reaction for me) asked how much he wanted for it and an exchange of $200 later he dropped it off to my house.

I have been wrestling for the last several months on what I want to do with it. I think I have finally formulated my plan and am about to embark on the journey. I was going to do a rat rod project this year, but since this little car fell out of the unwanted tree and landed in my yard I will go forward with it. It is going to be a whirlwind year as I have a completion goal of the St. Ignace Car Show in June 2013 and have a ton of things to do to get it ready. I would really like to drive it back and forth to work for a month before I take it on a trip, so I have less time than I keep thinking I have. I have been to the show in 2 of my former rides with a buddy of mine, but this time I would like to bring my wife and indoctrinate her into the car culture. lol

Enough with the banter, here are a few pics of the fresh canvas!

Here it is after being introduced to the shop and sitting for a month while I repaired my wifes "new" car.

nwikhf.jpg

Here it is after finally starting to study it for the planning phase while the wife's car was in my booth.

t0iypf.jpg

And finally here it was a couple weeks ago after it had become a storage bench for the "other shop project.

34ex54m.jpg

And the other shop project, my buddy's Jeepster.

iyh0t5.jpg