Shock valving....???

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CORPO

Buildin' it his way, one piece at a time...
Looking at some shocks for the front of my truck, can someone explain to me the valving, I understand compression vs rebound. But what I'm not entirely sure on is as the number gets higher is this more resistance?

For example a shock that is 3/5 meaning 3 compression and 5 rebound, is the rebound stiffer?

Then the second part of my question is if you are looking a two shocks one is a 5/5 and one is a 7/7 obviously they are equal between compression and rebound, but is the 7 then stiffer??

Im sure some of you racer guys would know this stuff
thanks guys

I'm not an expert, but, I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express... Actually, I've talked to tech. people at Cararra & Pro Shocks. First, there is no industry standard. Some use the 1 through 7 system, some use terms like; extra light, light, medium, heavy, etc. Some actually use pounds/inch numbers.
Yes, a 5-5 shock and a 7-7 would be 50-50 shocks with compression and rebound being the same. Number 1 is the lightest and number 7 is the stiffest.
For the light weight hot rods I build, I use the lightest shock available. Used to use Monroe racing shocks in the extra light calibration. But I can't find them anymore. Pro Shocks, in the Speedway catalog are claimed by the manufacturer to be a light caibration. I use the them and they are fine. Alan Jouhnson, the world class rod builder uses Bilstein mono tube shocks on his Rat's Glass roadsters and coupes. Pretty expensive though.
Of course, the ultimage is a 14 position adjustable.
On my grandson's bobber truck we used some worn out junkyard shocks. They're still a bit stiff but not too bad.