HELP, Need engine advice, does this look okay?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmlcolorado

Sooooo........I was making some good progress on the rat, till I built the exhaust and went to fire it up and fond the engine has spun mains :(
Well, I've never built a motor before, and the rat has been pulled out of the garage till I get a motor built. It's been a few months now.
I'm afraid if I don't get fuel to the machine soon, ill loose all interest and it'll just finish rotting away in the yard :(
I don't normally come across money, and I was hoping to build my own motor, but the clocks a tickin.

SO, with my tax return, and some extra side work, I've got some cash to play with. Not much really, but some.
My thinking is to snag up a halfway decent motor and I think my motivation will return.
I came across this on Craig's and I want some opinions from guys who know SBC's. is this something I should entertain?

http://denver.craigslist.org/pts/3590347851.html

"SBC 383 Short Block, Forged Internals, Roller Cam - $1600 (Morrison)
383 Stroker (350 with Stroker Kit)

Block: studded 4 bolt 350 block , fresh t/p bored and honed, align honed,durabond cam bearings and brass freeze plugs

Crank: New scat 9000 series hi per stroker crank

Rods: SCAT 4340 I BEAM 5.7

Pistons: Forged ARIAS.10.:1 cc

Timing components : TRUE ROLLER DEGREED TO SPEC

Oil System: Factory oil pan, . New m 55 Hv pump and steel rod/ with welded pick up

Cam Shaft: CROWER Hyd Roller
New Comp Retro Hyd Roller Lifters

Misc. engine parts: Arias file fit rings, Clevite 77 tri metal bearingss,
all components , and timing cover , oil pan studded for custom appearance.

Balancing: All work performed on Sunnen digital equipment
$1600"

By the looks of it, he has quite a bit of the major components installed.