29 Ford build

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

uzaree

I started this build wanting to build the 5 window sedan but I have been looking at some trucks so I MAY go that way but I haven't decided yet.

Just a little bit of back ground. My goal was to create each piece by hand then draw the template in CAD so I can make each piece again if I wanted to. So just because I may change to the truck doesn't mean I can't finish out a 5 window sedan.

First pictures of what I am starting with. Now also Keep in mind I have NEVER done this before so I am learning as I go. Also I am not using ANYTHING from the template car.

PDR_1328.jpg

PDR_1327.jpg

PDR_1326.jpg

PDR_1325.jpg

PDR_1324.jpg

PDR_1323.jpg

PDR_1322.jpg

PDR_1321.jpg

PDR_1320.jpg

PDR_1319.jpg

My next task was to build the A Pillars from scratch.

Here is how i did it. First I made my template. Then brought it into CAD. The CNC cut each piece =)

PDR_1393.jpg

PDR_1392.jpg

PDR_1389.jpg

PDR_1388.jpg

PDR_1397.jpg

PDR_1398.jpg

PDR_1395.jpg

PDR_1387.jpg

PDR_1385.jpg

Then I started to put the parts together that I made. While I was doing that I made the two side cowl pieces and the firewall. I also chopped it 6 inches

0143ea68.jpg

c3723808.jpg

82b993c8.jpg

f7c5497f.jpg

acbfbf28.jpg

That is as far as I've gotten. I would like to add that to this point other than using the CNC to cut out more skins in case I screwed one up all I used for everything was clamps and a ball pean hammer for form the beads and fold over the edges. I also welded everything together using the torch instead of my TIG. I used my mig to tack everything together though.