49 Ford F2 Pickup

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PDublyu

New guy here...attaching a photo of my recently acquired 49 F2 rat. As you can see, it has already had some substantial modifications by the previous owner(s), some better done than others. 350/TH350, 4" chop, fender & grill mods, box, etc. I'm new to all of this, but after reading a lot of posts here, I'm feeling more confident about handling much of the work I'd like to do. First up is installing the 9" Ford rear end I bought so I can go faster than 50mph without screaming along. Next is front disc brakes. I'm planning to use the F1 5 lug kit to match the rear axle. The truck has all-terrain tires on late-model 16" alloy wheels now. I'd like to go back to something more period rod...looking for suggestions on diameter and widths? I understand I need at least 15" wheels to clear the front rotors. Was thinking 16s in an artillery or smoothie wheel and whitewalls, but unsure of correct rim and tire widths for this look. I should mention I also plan to install Posies springs front and rear for a 3" drop, and am still debating any further lowering and/or channel, or moving the axle forward.

I realize I have a lot of "rebuilding" of former work to do, and plan to work on cleaning up the body mods once I've got a decent driver. Planning to keep the unique front grill/side cowling sheetmetal, but maybe lose the fenders.

Maybe some of you guys with F1, 2, 3's etc can post a photo with wheel & tire specs to give me some guidance?

All comments and suggestions greatly appreciated. And thanks for putting up with the newbie questions.

Attachments

• 20130829_125822.jpg
    20130829_125822.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 75
Welcome aboard.
Interesting truck. Chop looks decent from the pic.Has that early power wagon vibe to it.