Body Fillers

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grmorris

Can anyone give me advice on using body fillers? Its my first time doing this type of work so don't want to screw it up too bad! I have been researching the various types and have come up with a couple I think seem to fit my purpose. The two types are USC Fuzion Body Filler (non-spray on) and evercoat Slick Sand Rage Extreme (spray on). Anyone use these before? Thanks

Last edited:
body filler?

i'm not sure but i think body filler is an oxymorn (?) when talking rat rod?
just a thought, good luck with the build.

i'm not sure but i think body filler is an oxymorn (?) when talking rat rod?
just a thought, good luck with the build.

So he's not allowed to build his car the way he wants to?
I've always used non-spray on filler,It will take someone who's used both to compare but the spray on to me in theory would mean more work?

I used Evercoat Z Grip because it is formulated for bare metal and I had my truck media blasted before I did anything. It was my first go-around with any filler and I really liked it, the filler not the process:D. It is light weight, sands really fast and doesn't clog your sandpaper. I've used three Evercoat products and was satisfied with them all.

http://www.ratrodsrule.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17439

Attachments

• GMC 229.jpg
    GMC 229.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 21
I'm a retired body man, I didn't know they made any other type! I thought it was all for bare metal,

it used to be, but not anymore... many recommend a metal treatment/or epoxy coat before the filler goes on

i have used Z-grip (alot!:eek:) and like it as well.... the "spray-on" may be good stuff, -ive never used it, but i have been told it is more for a finishing coat (skim-coat) type repair than traditional "mix & swipe" fillers