Brake Lines-100 questions

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sgo70

I'm getting ready to run my brake lines and it's my first time ever doing this so I want to make sure I get it right. I have 49-54 chevy calipers from Speedway and an '86 Ford 9" rear drum. Here's what I have so far:

Front:
Master cylinder-2psi RPV-T connection-through frame fitting- flex line-caliper.

Rear:
Master Cylinder-pressure brake switch-10psi RPV-APV-flex line-T connection-wheel cylinders.

Hopefully this is right so far.

1. Are you supposed to use teflon tape or copper washers on the connections??
2. Banjo fittings on the calipers??
3. If I use steel lines what brake fluid?? Will they last??
4. 3/16" or 1/4" lines??

Thanks, I'm sure I'll have more questions,

Sean

I can help with a couple questions. Copper washers only need to be used on the connections at the calipers,banjo fittings, etc.You shouldn't need to use teflon tape cuz the end connections or splices are a double flare and seal themselves when you tighten the nut. Get a flaring tool so you can make your own end connections if needed. Tubing bender also if you need to route your lines around the frame and mounts,etc. Not sure what to tell ya about size of line. I used 3/16 on my car. DOT 5 fluid is synthetic based and is good, in my opinion, if the car sits for a period of time{winter months for example} cuz it does not take on moisture like regular fluid can and won't sieze up calipers or wheel cyls(White rust). If you have a good sealed system regular brake fluid usually works just fine. Hope some of this helps ya out.