Hello from LI NY

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sonicdeath88

Long Island, NY "and no im not rich" "at all".
Hello, my names Justin. im new to this forum, and this is one of the first forums im on besides mustang ones. i recently bought a 52 willys pickup in ok condition. and im looking to build a rat rod. i have alot of ideas on what im going to do with it, but i want to get more, and learn as much as i can. i have some knowledge on builds. my old man builds hot rods at his shop. i recently build a fox body mustang for myself witch had a short life due to a evil honda civic :(. im currently building a little rat VW super bettle "ive had it since i was 16 and need to finish it". my real ambition is to get this willys done though. I plan on only using the cab for sure. as for the frame, its pretty rotted. im not sure what to do with it, do i salvage it or find another and work with that? all the same i want it to be real low, im not sure if its worth trying to Z the fram i have or just start fresh with another. all the same i plan on dropping a big V8 into it and going as fast as i possably can. Ive been on the hunt for a 401 or 425 Nailhead but ive been comming up short. i have a 302 that i build for my stang that has only 3,500 mile on it and runs like a top. i was concidering dropping that into it. and i also have a 351W outta a 69 mach 1 that needs to be rebuilt "witch is no problem for me to do" I want to keep it stick of course and im planning on using a 9 inch ford as my rear. back to the frame issue. i was thinnking of picking up a ford ranger and using that frame and suspention, but im pretty hellbent on having a independent front suspention, and i dont plan on having any fenders or a hood on the beast all the same, other then that ive tossed up the idea of tryingt o make my own frame, but i dont hvae much knowledge on building one. im really jus