Wyoming jeep rat rod.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Huntcrazy

Hi guys I'm new to the rat rod world. I Currently have a 48 Willys Jeep CJ2A. I'm only using the tub and grill for my project. I have it all torn down ready to pull off the original frame. I'm going to run a built 396 small block chevy with a 700r4 tranny. I bought a 2000 s10 excab short box and was thinking of using the frame for my project. But this is where I'm kind of stuck. I want to lower this jeep to the ground and use an air bag set up to lift it. I just don't know if I should build a frame from scratch or try convert the s10 frame. I just think the s10 front suspension will look out of place. But I like the idea of independent suspension. But the suicide look is cool to. I just don't want it to look hacked together. This is the look I'm going for. Any info and advice would be really great thanks guys. IMG_9753173335787.jpeg

Welcome to the site
Build a frame
If you're using a phone to upload then, one pic at a time is common.
If you're on a computer then try checking the remember me box at login.

Welcome to the site from Northern Michigan.
As Old Iron said. Build the frame.
I personally don't care for the look of IFS on a fender less vehicle. But that's a personal preference.
Lots of great builders on here to guide you thru your journey should you require it.
Torchie.

Welcome to RRR! Some members find it easier to use a picture hosting site like Photobucket.

If you want that look, you'll have to go straight axle, suicide style. You could come fairly close with A-arms and a rack and pinion, but that won't look near as clean. S10 frames shouldn't be used on fenderless rods IMO and without converting to R&P, you'll have the big ugly frame horns sticking way out front.