leaf spring mount for suicide suspension?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meteorman

I am working on setting up a transverse suicide spring for my front end. I am using a 78 dodge motorhome front axle. How do I need to mount the spring to the axle? do I need a perch and shackles?? why do I need this if I do?

Can I just get a spring perch and put the spring on it directly? or do I need a shackle?

Or, can I just bracket the spring down onto the axle directly without a perch and shackle???? why or why not?

thanks in advance.

Not that I'm an expert on suicide axles

I am working on setting up a transverse suicide spring for my front end. I am using a 78 dodge motorhome front axle. How do I need to mount the spring to the axle? do I need a perch and shackles?? why do I need this if I do?

Can I just get a spring perch and put the spring on it directly? or do I need a shackle?

Or, can I just bracket the spring down onto the axle directly without a perch and shackle???? why or why not?

thanks in advance.

the shakles are there to allow the spring to flex....otherwise it would bind so some sort of shakle would be required I would guess.. mounting wise, anything that would securely mount the spring to to a stationary part of the frame should be cool..... remember, this is certainly not my field of expertise....

new question

I think I'm getting why the shackle is necessary, for flex.

next question:
can I mount my spring in one of the side holes on the axle? I have four holes where the old style parallel spring mounted with brackets. Now I don't need those holes, but there is no center hole, and I'm afraid if I drill one, there won't be enough axle left around the hole for strength. So, can I put the spring perch in the hole closest to the vehicle? off-center? and the radius rod will hold it stable.??????
Ugh, thanks for being patient.[S[S

meteorman