Crappy brakes.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leagas

Hi guys, looking for some advice on brakes. I have a 37 ford pickup on a Chevy s10 frame. All brakes Etc are s10, discs on the front and drums on the back. I have a universal master cylinder under the floor with a proportioning valve. I have been told I need to fit residual check valves so I have ordered some and will fit them next week but why is it I have hardly any brakes? Even if I pump them it gets no better. Pedal feels ok but I can hardly hold the vehicle at a stop sign even with stomping on the brake pedal as hard as I can. Anybody have any ideas what could be wrong. I have fitted new pads and shoes, cylinders, drums Etc so I know they need to bed in but surely I should have more brake than that.

Maybe wrong bore on master ... I have a brake issue just like this but havnt gotten around to fixing it yet. is your universal master the same size bore as the original s 10 ? and there is a difference in a power brake master and a manual ..... Im not sure if it can be used on either set up or not .. Some body will jump in here in a min. or 2 [S

yeah not sure of the bore size of the master cylinder. Is it easy to check it?
I guess, the bigger the bore the better the brakes, is that right?
theres no booster so i expected them to be heavy.

under

it's probably bleed back, l had the same problem on a few cars and residual valves fixed it on mine.

if the master is lower than the bleeder valves and the brakes slave cylinders, a residual valve is almost always needed.

using aftermarket masters like wilwood or afco may require a residual valve. a lot do not come internally set up like a factory one.

on my 3Osomething l used 2 LBS on both ends as it has 4 wheel disc brakes & on the race car l used 2 LBS for disc fronts & 1O LBS on the rear for the drums.