51 dodge Rat Rod Build BSA Venturing Crew

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

craftyken

I'm a Venturing crew coach, (boys 16-18 years old) chartered by the L.D.S. Church. October 15 2008 we tore down and mocked up the 1951 Dodge PU we're ratting out. Plans are to fab a bobbed frame with around a 114" wheel base, with suicide front axel and buggy spring rear suspension, cradling a chevy small block. With this cab no less than a 6" chop will do.

Here is an all around view of the mock up.
PA160046.jpg

PA160056.jpg

PA160053.jpg

PA160051.jpg

The second build day 10/22/08

October 22 2008 was the second night of the build. We built a Dollie to move the cab around on, then rolled it in to the shop to do the chop.We only had about three hours working time but at least we got the top off. it would have been nice to make the second cuts and set the top back on to get a feel for what it's going to look like. We wont be working on it again till Nov. I don't think I can wait that long to make those second cuts, so you might see something sooner than that....

Chris fitting the supports for the chop
ratrodstuff002.jpg

Me laying out the chop
ratrodstuff008.jpg

The first cut no going back now.
ratrodstuff011.jpg

A few more pics

Bryan trying to cut straight on vicodin prescribed of course.
ratrodstuff019.jpg

Dr. Nordstrom what are you thinking, you know your not allowed in the operatory with out gloves....
ratrodstuff020.jpg

Aw what a beautiful sight...
ratrodstuff021.jpg

Bro. Starkwether, that grin means he approves.
ratrodstuff023.jpg
:rolleyes:

finely back to work

t's been a long three weeks. I've been dieing to make those seconds cuts, and set the top back on to see what its going to look like.The fowling pics are the results of our third work Night.

Its a good thing Erick has braces, he might have rattled his teeth out of his head with that jig saw