59 ford f100 steering secter

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

410merc

hi guys, well I got the front axle and back axle together now its time to start on the steering sector , I want to rig it up with the draglink right beside the frame rails , now here are my questions I have a sector and complete colume from a 59 ford f100 pickup has anyone ever used one of these ? and the colum looks to be kind of long could I shorten this up somehow? or do you guys think i should look around for a whole different unit ? this is my first time ever working on a steering sector, thanks guys

hi guys, well I got the front axle and back axle together now its time to start on the steering sector , I want to rig it up with the draglink right beside the frame rails , now here are my questions I have a sector and complete colume from a 59 ford f100 pickup has anyone ever used one of these ? and the colum looks to be kind of long could I shorten this up somehow? or do you guys think i should look around for a whole different unit ? this is my first time ever working on a steering sector, thanks guys

Did you mention what type of frame you are using?
Lots of people use the steering column and box from the F-1 series. Which is earlier than what you have and most likely shorter.
Having said that you can adapt what you have to work. The shaft will need to be cut down to shorten it. You can use any one of the numerous steering shaft u-joint couplers and do it your self.
Measure twice. Cut once. Pic is just for an example.
Torchie.
Torchie.

Attachments

• 91031636_L.jpg
    91031636_L.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 1