any mechanics itemized there tools?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rockabillyrat

i am a mechanic and i have never done this. nor do i think ive spent enough on tools in one year to deduct them. i was just wondering if any one has done this. i talked to the guy when doing my taxes and he said that i might not be able to even if i did spend enough money in tools over the year. whats up with that? any one got some input to help me out. im going to buy the tools any way, i need them (about 20k worth) all for work. kinda doing and overhaul on some of my tools and going to credit a new snap on box. been saving for a while. just seeing if i can get some cash back next year for this.

We have the same kind of a farce here as well. A mechanic can't claim a deduction for tools....but a business can. Even if it's the exact same item. So what happens if you were to become a business? If you start a business as a 'sole proprietor' you can then claim all expenses. By working on contract you may also have to do billing and collect tax where required. When employed by someone else under contract you would likely need to buy insurance, pay compensation, and unemployment insurance, and most likely, state and federal tax etc. Not something to be entered into lightly. All this stuff requires a pile of time to complete, and stay on top of everyday. Any tool deductions are soon offset and lost by the cost of all the other requirements, unless your really running a true business where a lot more comes into play to make it worth while.

Still, 20 thou is a lot of money for the average guy to put out. Check on cost of insurance for theft, fire etc. and inventory your tools, take pictures and have receipts to back it all up, just in case. Forget deductions, and quietly cry yourself to sleep. Ain't being a mechanic grand??;)