Fuses for Accessories?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmontanez

Hello All,

I am new to the wiring and electrical world, I have done all the wiring on my project. I just want to know where should i put inline fuses so I don't harm or short any wires.

my set so far is:

-Electric Fan w/ relay (fuse box IGN)
-Electric kickdown (fuse box IGN)
-Stereo (fuse box ACC)
-Electric choke (fuse box ACC)
-Amp (to BATT) with inline fuse

thanks

Tony

Fuses are usually placed as close to the power source as possible that way it protects the wiring if it is over loaded

Just get you a cheap fuse box or steel one from another vehicle. IMO it's way easier to deal with and a cleaner look.

Yep, use a fuse panel instead of individual in line fuses. Much cleaner, easier to trace when there is a problem, and everything is in one place. If you can't get one from a car go to a marine store. Cole Hersee and others make nice little fuse panels that take either the old glass fuses or the new ATO fuses.

It will make your life so much easier.

Don

I bought mine at a swap meet off of one of the guys who sells the cheap tools. It has 8 fuses and was only $6. He had others that had close to 20 fuses also.

thanks

ok so to add the extra fuse box:

-i need to add a relay to the new box then send relay power wire to the batt
-power the new fuse box with the key on spade from the original box
-attach all accessories to the new box and add fuses

if someone can give me a better description on how to do this i would appreciate it, thank you.

tony