Hello From Pa

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ufslouis

Hey all,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Louis and I am a teacher from PA. I have always loved cars. My first ride was a 69 plymouth valiant. I loved that car. As I got more and more into cars I began to get into fally racing etc... I veared away from old cars and bought an 02 Subaru WRX. After years of dishing out tons of cash on the car I am finnaly ready to switch over to my original passion for old cars.

Now that my wife and I just bought a house and we have a great garage that I can work in I decided to sell the subaru, get a junker for dd and start building a rat rod. This is a new venture for me but one that my wife supports as she knows that aside from getting tattooed cars are my life.

Any advice that you guys could throw up on good places to start looking around would be great. Is there a good how to guide? I can weld, do body work etc... I am just a bit dumb founded as to where to begin.

Thanks

Hey Louis,
Welcome...these guys are great. I have found just looking at past posts, they are ready to give advice and it is usually right on. Welcome and enjoy!

Welcome to RRR Louis. Well a couple of good place to start looking would be your local paper, Craigs List, Classic Car Trader or E-bay. E-bay can be dicey, unless it's a car that's local and you can look at it first. Plus the fact it is an auction and bidders can drive prices up to the unreasonable, especially if they have buddy bidding to drive the price up. Fortunately I have bought 3 on E-bay (all 3 buy it now) and didn't have regrets.

Sites like this one or,the HAMB, and KillBillet always has cars for sale. Check with local car clubs, drive through alleys and look in back yards (don't get shot though :eek:), take a drive out in the country you might be suprised what you can find out there.

Good Luck hunting and have fun.