Hmmmmm...what engine 350 or 327

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmel

I'm currently running a little gutless 305 in my '27. Naturally, its gutless by my own doing as I wanted a wicked sounding engine and ended up putting way too much cam in it. Sounds mean as F***, but it really is gutless - all bark and no bite.

With that being said, I have a 350 set aside that I was going to build whenever the funds became available. I've never built an engine before, and outside of changing a cam a couple of times and changing an intake a couple of times, I've never touched an engine. Over the past few months, I was thinking that something a bit more vintage would be cool...and speak of the devil, an opportunity on a 327 has presented itself to me. A buddy pulled it out of an Impalla SS...supposedly turns, but does need to be rebuilt, and the price seems to be right.

I guess the question is...what do you recommend? What would you be happier with? Vintagy 327 or mid-late 80's 350 2 bolt main. I am seriously leaning towards the 327...hell, I could tell people my 305 is a 327 and most wouldn't know the difference to call me out on it...but having a 327 seems pretty cool in its own right.

I'm assuming its not really going to cost me any more, or at least much more to rebuild it over a 350 - but I very well could be wrong. This will be my first venture into an engine build. My 305 was already built and running when i bought it and put it in the '27.

Thoughts, suggestions? I wouldn't be doing much to either I don't think...perhaps a milder, yet still wicked sounding cam where I still get a good thump but don't lose all of my low end torque, and will be running 3 rochester 2 jets on it as well if that matters.