Introduction and plan; New Rat rodder

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey guys, I'm Christian Bivens. I am 18 years old and live in StockbridgeGA and have just decided to join this forum.
I would like to build a rat rod, and I know how helpful a forum can be.
I have a 71 Ford 300 Inline 6 with a toploader 3 speed that was left on my property when I purchased the land. I recently pulled the thing out of the woods and began messing with it and was surprised on how good condition and clean it was. Spark plugs looked better than the ones in my daily driver! Literally had no issue starting after a regular tune up (new fluids, good gas ect)
So my idea was: instead of letting this thing rust to it's death, why not do something with it?
Now my usual hobby is building motorized bikes that look like BTR's, but I have been doing that for 2 years now, and I think it's time to build a real toy
I have blacksmithed for 8 years as a hobby, have been welding for 3 years with professional instruction. I also have 4 years of professional instruction on mechanical drafting and design and use of AutoCAD software and systems. I apprentice part time at an elevator shop and have access to large mills and lathes. So metal working and fabrication are not new to me, so I assume this will be nothing but an enjoyable experience. So I hope
Now my idea just from a little research and thought is to get a modern frame so it will have an updated suspension, and just make it look 40's/50's. Any reason why that wouldn't work? I want handling over speed, since I'm working with a low hp motor. I was thinking like an F150 frame and just cut it down and shorten it, then shop around while building for a 40/50/60's shell/cab to put on it. Maybe a truck cab and chop the top on it