Just a stupid question about a Z'd frame.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kouki

Ok this may be a stupid question, but when everyone says the frame is z'd 6" in the front 12" rear etc, how does everyone measure the amount of z in the frame? is it measured as the distance between the top of the lower rail and bottom of upper rail or distance from top to top?

Don't hold me as an authority on it...

Ok this may be a stupid question, but when everyone says the frame is z'd 6" in the front 12" rear etc, how does everyone measure the amount of z in the frame? is it measured as the distance between the top of the lower rail and bottom of upper rail or distance from top to top?

I'm going to teach you how to answer your own question young grasshopper

I always assumed that the amount stated was the overall change created in the rail.
But I'm a carpenter and I have a formal education in critical thinking so that's how I think... I measure any change from the same benchmark.

So if the Z causes a 12" step I'd assume that there is 12" difference between top-top or bottom-bottom. I wouldn't think that a 12" step would be from the bottom to the top...That would violate good science and good math.
Back in school they taught us that when comparing from one thing to another to use something that's common between them and to maintain measurements in the same units throughout the equation.
With the frame as an example... lets say it's a 4" rail... both ends have different elevations from the floor but both frames have a top and a bottom to that rail that are equidistant from each other=4".

if 6" plus 6" = 12" then 6" times 2= 12"
if you change units (inches,pounds,meters,etc) within the formula it makes the outcome untrue
if 6" plus 6" =12" then 6" plus 6cm= 12pounds... not true

Only a true equation answers a question