Looks vs Practicality

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sleepyjake

Need some help guys,

I'm driving a 41 Chevy PU, with a sbc 350, with a 650 Edelbrock. Gas mileage is decent (much better than the quadrajunk I had). I'm starting on a 46 Ford PU (200 bux for cab, on a rolling chassy)and am going to put a dodge 331? in it (200 bux for it and tranny). It's gonna be my new daily driver (giving the 41 to my son). I want the looks of the bigger carb or maybe even a dual setup but am worried about the gas. Just wondering what's out there, really thinking about going with a single 2 barrel. Does any1 have any pics of a 350 with some kind of cool gas saving setup? I'll send a couple pix of the 41, i got it on ebay last november, using it as a template for the 46. Getting ready to chop the top and take the floor out for channeling this weekend. This is my first build, i have two good friends helping me along but i will be checking with the pro's here alot. Only have the two pics, but have been taking a few since i started on the 46 (missed the crane on the back of my guys work truck taking the cab off the frame....dammit). I'll try and download them this weekend.

Thanx in advance for the help,

Jake

Attachments

• DSC05622.jpg
    DSC05622.jpg
    150.9 KB · Views: 112
  • DSC05627.jpg
    DSC05627.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 67
Cool truck!

Jake,
Cool truck, bet your son can't wait to get behind the wheel! Plans for yourr new truck sound cool too, can't wait to see some pictures!

ISore

Several things really help in the gas milage dept. An overdrive tranny, high rear end ratio, and a carb that is matched to the engine you are using. Common belief is that if you stuck a little 2 barrel on an engine that had a four barrel you are automatically going to get much better milage. Not necessarily true.