Master cylinder rod adjustment needed after hooking up vacuum line?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dirtyrat

Got Fins?
Tonight I got the motor running again, and it seems with the vac line hooked up to be brake booster, the pedal feels like it has 2" of travel before resistance?

When I bled the brakes with no vac source it was a nice firm pedal [S[S[S

Any thoughts or lessons learned from you all would be excellent right about now...

wow .. but does it stop real good ? or is the pedal almost to the floor ?

I have not driven it, I was going to see if it at least still stops the wheel from spinning... its weird... I've never seen anything like that with the brakes becoming like a sponge when vac is applied to the booster. Especially since I had a rock solid pedal prior...

you got that right Im not good with brakes [S got to be careful on the adjusting so it dont drag I just put some brakes on a yota and they were like that not running good pedal when running a little lower pedal but it stops on a dime ..

Funny, but that's the way mine on the Lincoln act. Without vacuum, pedal was very solid, after I hooked up the vacuum, pedal goes down a couple of inches before it "hooks", but it still has plenty of pedal and stops fine. I almost left the vacuum off of mine after that first time, but I adjusted to it.

Hey DR, I had the same thing on my Dodge and adjusted the rear drums up and it helped a bunch. Don't know if that's your case but it might be worth checking.

Sounds like you're getting close. Don't weaken and remember,you can sleep when you're dead.

Another person mentioned bleeding them as they had seen a good pedal with no vacuum, and spongy with vac applied...