New guy from Casper, Wy

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Let's Boogie

I have been collecting parts for my project for about 4 months now. This is a rundown fo what i have been doing.
I bought a 20 something Dodge Bros Tub from a local car show for $40 and said this was a start. So i ran with it. A few weeks later a friend tells me of a 71' Caddy for sale. I went and looked at it and bought it. It didnot hurt that it had the 500 CI motor in it and bought it for $50. I was thinking I am on a roll now whoo-hoo. I then bought the 2x3 tubing so i can build the frame for it. Then a guy across from where i worked had a 48 IH truck in the back with no cab so i went and inquired about it. Ended up getting it for free. He was tired of looking at it and needed it gone. So i am using the grill, front axle & Hyd shocks from it. Progress has been slow going since i have been collecting the parts and whatnot and it seems like i will be moving again. But as I make progress i will post it up.

Here are some pics so far.

This is the day i bought the tub.
1926Ratrodproject1-1.jpg

Got the grill off and checking to see how things looked
IMG-20111016-00073.jpg

Started to build the rear of the frame
Rearframesection.jpg

another view of the rear of the frame under the ride.
Rearsection.jpg

Front View with the front axle kinda where i want it. Also sitting at ride height or close to it. 5 1/2" in Back & 3 1/2" in front.
Frontaxlekindainplace.jpg

Side View of the front.
Sideviewwithfrontaxleinplace.jpg

Welcome !!!
You've scarfed some good parts worth the money
I love the old Binder grilles
Now get your build thread goin I'll be watchin

Jim

Great looking start to your build! Welcome to RRR from Denver - but don't hold that against me... My Dad's side of the family is from Casper and most of them are still in the area.

Welcome