New guy from South africa

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Claw

So i have started a 37 chevy pick up prodject

Okay so some of you on the site have seen that i am only 27 and might think i think i know it all ... well that aint true ...

I am a newbie to this site and hope to get all or most of the stuff that i am looking for in getting my "old school " ride back on the road. First and formost this will not be a restoration to original as that would take way to long and i might be old and grey by that time.... no pun intended. So this would either be a " Rat Rod " or a street/hot rod , question is however would our lovely South Africa allow a rat rod on the road or would that be considerd as a non roadworthy car ?

Also i have seen on so many websites that a person could get replacement parts for Almost any car, question is are they any good and are they made of fiberglass or sheet metal ? as well seeing that i am looking to drop a small block 350 into it would i need to do any changes to the chassis seeing that it's such an old car ? Or would it be better to get a new chassis and if so where does a person get one and who is the best person to contact in that regards ?

In regards to the car itself ... it is in a so so half good half bad place in its life .... only has survis rust and in the corners of the doors and bed .... .... would have loved to share some pic's but the size is a mission on its own ..... so have to get that right before i can add them .....

So yeah ... such is I lookin forward hearing from you all and making some friends in the hotrod world ... seeing i have lost touch tX to my dad totaling his 84' camaro