New guy from St.Louis area

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

towb3

Hey there. I have been searching for a while for an informative rat site for a while. Seems like there are a bit more how to's and answered questions so I left the previous unnamed site. A bit about me...... I have tinkered with vehicles for a while but nothing major. I recently started hanging out with a former boss in attempt to learn more. We are in the process of a frame off resto of a 56 Nomad, and I just picked up my first real project.

This Saturday I officially take possession of a '38 chevy pickup cab that is resting on a '28 model A frame. No floor, firewall, or trans. It is coming with a good 283 sbc though. I know, its not the ideal choice of many, but it will have to do for now. This is my first time messing with solid axle front suspension, so I am sure there will be plenty of questions about steering and suspension geometry.

Here are some pics
This picture immediately sold me on the truck
3pc3o13lf5O55Tb5Rd9c8746270ca20f71b.jpg

3kb3o23p85Q35P95R79c8f21b0a5c767a18.jpg

3m23o73l35Q15U75R39c839831ca5dc6b12.jpg

Thanks for any help you guys give in the near future.

Welcome to RRR from NC.

We all started at some point in time and speaking for myself I knew very little about building anything from the ground up.

There as lots of folks on here to help you with any problems you may have. I know, they have helped me alot.

The straight axle isnt that bad once you understand how it all works together and the set-up.

You have a great start already with what you just bought. Keep the pictures coming and do ask questions. Great bunch of folks here willing to help you.

God luck on your build.

Larry

welcome to the RRR! truly a good family friendly site with lots of great people (and a few cool rides around here as well:D )