New Guy Needing Advice...Pics

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

truckie561

Been lurkin' for a little while,figured I'd introduce myself and t'row a few pics your way in hopes of getting some opinions and/or advice. My name is Matt and I live in the Southwest Florida, about 2 hours South of Tampa. I got a wife and 3 amazing kids, ages 8 and under and I've been a firefighter for the last 16 years.
As far as vintage vehicles go, I've owned and sold 2 cj7's, 1 cj8, a 1956 Chevy longbed pick-up, and a 1964 split window VW Bus. I don't have too much experience in turnin' wrenches and I've had a lot of help from experienced friends along the way with my project vehicles. That being said, I keep coming back to classic vehicles for some reason and I'm eager to become more proficient in taking these vehicles apart and putting them back to together....might even try my hand at welding. I've recently been leaning towards a getting my hands dirty on a mild Rat Rod build...on a budget.
Let me show you what I'm looking at and you let me know if you think she'd be a decent candidate for a ratting out or if I'd be getting over my head.
She's a titled 1958 Apache that I can purchase for no less than $2000. She has typical rust issues....corners need redone, front fenders could be patched, cab floors & steps are shot and need replacing, roof, inner fenders and firewall all look pretty solid. She has has a v8 and auto tranny, which hasn't run in 2 years and will be removed by seller. Cause she ain't running it's hard to assess much else. Any questions, just shoot'em at me. Sorry if there are too many pics. I have a few other pics that I can post. Let me know.
3ne3Ec3H65Ie5H25J5cae9c63477a307f1b9c.jpg

3K23M13Nb5Ic5H45Jdcae357e7b1e585d1aef.jpg

DSCN2721.jpg

DSCN2733.jpg

DSCN2723.jpg

DSCN2724.jpg