Oh what to do ?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcdvw66

Heres my situation. I have a great job working for a guy that takes good care of his employees, we get paid well, have insurance, 401k, clean shop, no financial issues, and never work weekends, unless we are racing (3-4 times a year). Problem is that my job is the ONLY reason I live where I do. I really really do not like where I live. My freinds, family and longtime girlfreind live 280 miles away. So I am making a 560 mile round trip nearly every weekend, wich is not only costly but wastes about 10 hours driving each weekend. I have been doing this for 3 years and I think I'm done with it. I have become increasingly unhappy at work. So i have an oppotunity to take a similar job in the area I want to be, but it pays less, and Id work more hours. Of course there are other factors here, but I dont want to get too detailed and Im sure it may come off as just whining. But just looking for opinions.:confused:

Sounds like you are answering your own question a little. If you are becoming unhappy at work and your social life sucks b/c of work then maybe the job isn't so great.

I say take the other job in the short term in order to get to where you want to be. Once settled, maybe something else will come up that pays more.

Thats just me though. To me, location is huge. I have to be an area where I can find fun stuff to do and cool people.

Of course I know many folks at work that will drag thier poor families to just about any BFE dump anywhere in the world in order to take an assignment. But those people tend to have zero social life so I guess it doesn't matter to them.