Original or S10 Frame - are there rules?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thankful

OK, this question may cause rumblings as I am sure there are things here that are sacred. I am only guessing here and could be wrong - but I bet there are many purists or traditional lists that would only stick with period parts or something to that matter.

At least this is how it is in the motorcycle chopper world. It gets pretty heated when talking about - running a Shovel or Pan engine instead of running with something like an 80" Harley EVO. Even though most of them will tell you that they love the power and RELIABILITY with the EVO - the Shovel / Pan Knuckle has more soul....

So since I am still learning - And hopefully always will..... I am sure that there may be some of this when building a Rod. Although I get from reading posts and talking to people etc - that when building a Rat Rod - there is a little more leeway in the build process and what you use.

I guess my question here is - What's the difference in running on a stock frame or turning to a S10 or Dodge Dakota frame. I am sure they look a bit different when exposed etc... But what are the advantages or disadvantages.

And stigma... I am sure there is some kind of stigma. Maybe I am wrong - just asking...

Thanks for the input and info.

Have a great night.

Nothing wrong with an s-tin frame other than the radiator will sit way out front and look goofy without fenders. Put the radiator in the back and some will still not like how the steering box hangs out in front. Oh well! Do it the way you want. :D

I think they are great for something like an AD Chevy pickup but I have never seen a fenderless S-10 framed rod that didn't look like something the banjo player from Deliverance might build.