P15/Dakoda

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TudorP15

I am a newbie, and if you would like to read some about me, and my resume, I introduced myself in the introduction forum.

But here, I would like to pose a question. I have been into rods for many years. Into home built rods in the garage by normal workin class dawgs like me. Been out of the loop for years due to an accedent, so I need some direction in this new age.

I have a P15 Plymouth, 2 door sedan. My 13 year old daughter had laid claim on my Plymouth since she was 2 years old. She loves the car. I am wanting to update it to make it more reliable for a young teen to drive. I am considering pulling the body off and setting it on a current chassis and running gear. I am thinking a Dodge Dakota chassis with maybe a 318/auto. Does anyone know of anyone that has done something like that? I think the wheelbases are similar, and would like to find some resources for a Dakoda chassis swap is there is any.

Thanks

Seems to me the track width might be too wide. Unless the original frame is totally hashed I don't see the point in swapping frames. Swap in a different rear end, change the front drums over to disc brakes (there are kits out there). New front end parts are still out there. No reason why the stock stuff couldn't be made to work. Old Mopars handle pretty decent. I've had two of them and they handle at least as well as any 80s or 90s pickup if not better.

I am not sure of anyone who has done it, but if the wheelbase and track width is close enough it can be done. Are you capable of doing the welding ? It will need new body mounts and radiator supports , etc. Have you thought about just clipping the front? The rear is an easy thing thing to swap and clipping is usually a little easier. Any pics of the car? It is cool your daughter is one of us from the sounds of it.