pneumatic systems.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andreasklapp

wasn't sure where i should really put this, i put it here because i think it would have to be fired electrically. anybody think of a good way to translate the rotation of a crankshaft into an electrical signal you could use to operate pneumatic cylinders in place of a camshaft? i know it sounds crazy, but bear with me (or don't, i don't really care). it seems like there is a lot going on with the design of the valvetrain right now, i've been looking around a little bit lately and have found spherical rotary valves, springless valves, and pneumatic vale springs. i hear that bmw is trying to come up with a camless hydraulic valve system. now i'm not really educated in any way, i'm not an engineer, but it seems like if you could program a circuit to open and close a pneumatic cylinder directly inline with a valve stem at the right degree of rotation in just the right length (or depth). that would be the setup. the mechanics of it seem really simple. i'm sure there is a lot i'm missing that would have to be de-bugged. anybody got any ideas? the only things i can think of are a crank trigger running to some kind of modified distributor to send a signal to a solenoid to open and close a doubleacting cylinder. or a computer program to do the same thing. the computer would probably make more sense, be a little less complex in the end, be programmable so that you could run different "cams" for different settings (a drag setup, an efficiency setup,etc.) it seems like you would be able to vary the lift and duration according to rpm with it as well. i'll probably never be able to put together a model of it as i am flat broke most of the time, but just throwing it out there.