Project MRAP. I-beam identification

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Al Scarlett

Project MRAT. I-beam identification

Hey everybody,
If you are familiar with my project you are aware of the first obsticle I am trying to tackle which is the front suspension. Okay. I am looking at different options and a guy happen to see the car out when I was working on it and stopped in. He looked at the beam in the front and said it doesn't look like one to a car. He thought it was possibly from the truck and said with the right set of springs might be able to comfortably handle the 1400 lbs of engine I am putting up front.

Now I don't know this guy from Adam and as I stated before - I am a beginner, so I pulled it off real quick and I am wondering three things:
1) Can anyone ID this front beam?

2) Does it look strong enough to hold a BIG motor?

3) If not, is there a way to box a front end or add re-enforcement to a point where it could work? Please keep in mind that this car is going to look sorta like an armored car from hell (if you aren't already sure what an MRAP looks like). I figure that route would allow me to do some crazy stuff to make it fit in with the overall look of the rig.
Having trouble posting pics. See below.

Last edited:
Pics

Here are a few pics

Attachments

• DSCF4653.jpg
    DSCF4653.jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 30
  • DSCF4655.jpg
    DSCF4655.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 32
  • DSCF4656.jpg
    DSCF4656.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 28
  • DSCF4657.jpg
    DSCF4657.jpg
    81.1 KB · Views: 34
  • DSCF4658.jpg
    DSCF4658.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 28
Ok here's what I got so far. Let me know if anyone needs any other pics to take a guess. Sorry for the fomat. PC is givin me fits.:mad:

Attachments

• DSCF4658.jpg
    DSCF4658.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
If it is for a car.....