Still kinda confused about my gas tank???

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelseydum

Most of you know I'm new to this and this is my first keg gas tank. I know this is pretty simple, but I'm not quite understanding one thing. The drawings and pictures of keg tanks I've seen look something similar to this...

gastankDrawing1.jpg

However, in doing research I noticed that a carbureted motor only needs an outlet and not a return... Is this correct? If so do I only need one hose fitting on the bottom? The cap will be vented so no need for an extra vent, and I'm just going to use a dipstick to check my fuel level.

On my list of items to get are:

1. My aluminum filler neck and vented cap.

2. 1 aluminum fitting for the outlet (goes on bottom of tank).

Also in just trying to understand things as a whole better I have one more "stupid" question. On the older motors the fuel pump connects to the motor instead of close to or in the gas tank on newer models. How does the fuel flow through the system? Does the fuel go from the tank to the fuel filter then to the carburetor? Is there some left over gas that isn't burned, and does that go back to the tank (hence needing a return line)? Like I said, I'm a little confused and really new to this so any help is appreciated. I've done a ton of research but can only find so much info.

I found this pic that Bonehead (I think) posted, but is this for a fuel injected motor?

gas_tank_81_86.jpg

No return line needed on a carbureted engine. The standard vacuum fuel pump doesn't put out a lot of pressure so the excess fuel is just dead headed in the fuel bowl.

So all you need is a filler and outlet. With the outlet on the bottom put in shut off valve.