tie rod question?????????????

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigShem

[Sdidnt know were to post this this so i picked here..... heres the question..... tie rod.... in front of spring or behind spring let me hear yas pro and cons by the way using ford spindles....

I'm no suspension expert by any stretch but here's my .02. The location of the tie rod as it relates to the spring has no bearing on anything as long as there is clearance for suspension articulation and you can maintain reasonable ackerman. Someone with more knowledge may prove this wrong but that's the way I see it.

Like Gastrick said front or rear really doesn't matter. It has been done both way in a lot of factory cars. It's just a matter of where there's clearance and maintaining the proper Ackerman relationship.

If you're talking about swapping sides with a Ford spindle to front steer your Ackerman will be all messed up.

ok i just looked up the ackerman on wikepedia ok so if i understand this right it doesnt mater as long as all four tires are touching the ground ,,,, now is that why you degree the front axle out 6 to 8 degrees.??? just trying to understand

Big Shem...I can't explain ackerman without pictures, but basicly the engineers have designed front steering so that when you turn a corner the outside wheel turns alittle further than the inside wheel so that the car not push thru the corner. They make the car do this by designing the spindles and control arms to turn at slighly different angles. That being said, you don't have to worry about ackerman by swapping spindles on a straight axle car with a single tie rod.