Two Link/Bar Rear Suspension

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YoungBlood

I have heard from several rod builders that 2 link rear set up's aren't the way to go, which I can understand to some degree, a 4 Link would be preffered.

But whats the real problem with a 2 Link set up? If you ran a 2 Link with a Pan Hard bar and Coil Over shocks -- wouldn't that be enough for a 1800 lb (with driver) rat truck for rear suspension?

What is it that I'm not seeing? Is there an issue at high speeds? Bump issues? Longevity issues?:confused:

I'm sure this isn't the case, but does the pan hard bar not work as properly to avoid shifting of the rear?

I saw a Model T build that a guy used a 2 Link set up with Pan Hard bar at a car show. He wasn't there to talk to, but he obviously made it to the show.

Is a 2 Link with a pan hard considered a 3 Link???

I am new to this as anyone was, so I want to clear it up with y'all.

Thanks,
Tyson

Last edited:
2 link..

Here is my set up, the only problem i have ran into with "2 link" set ups with one panhard bar is that when the suspension compresses and rebounds the rear axle moves left and right, can be a problem if you have a tight fit with tires ect.. What i have is basicly a watts link set up with ZERO side to side movement of the rear axle..Sorry pic is kinda grainy just one i found real quick i think i took it with my phone.

Attachments

• phone 010.jpg
    phone 010.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 147