weird problem from the new guy

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

40-olds

okay I never thaught I would ever be faced with a problem like this! I have had every intention to put a 303 or the like in my 40 olds however, I was talking to a buddy about helping me to find a good runner and boy did he spin me for a loop! he said why dont you just buy my 331 Hemi? I said what Hemi? he said I have one out back that I havent started in a couple years. I know most everybody is gona say something like anything is cooler with a hemi, however like I said I was realy wanting to keep it with a olds mill. He also had a cadillac 331 that made me think. what kind of problem is that you may ask? I dont know at this point? I have never built a hemi before and I would like the build to a budget. give me your feedback I'll post a few picts. so you can get the idea.

Attachments

• hemi.jpg
    hemi.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 59
  • resize9.jpg
    resize9.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 24
I'm building a 392 Chrysler hemi right now. I'll add a link to the build thread at the end of the post. What year is our hemi? 1951-1954 will have a long bell housing cast in the block that will limit transmission choices a bit. 55 through 58 has a short bell housing that Wilcap and others make a wide variety of transmission adapters for. The good news is that you can get almost any part that you need for the early hemi. The bad news is that parts tend to be expensive. If you decide to go with the hemi, I suggest talking to Hemi Hot Heads. They are good people and they have all the parts. PAW also sells hemi parts but I deal with Hemi Hot Heads for almost everything. There are adapters that allow you to run a Chevy water pump and a later model Mopar oil pump. Useable quality factory replacements for those parts can be hard to obtain.

Here's a link to my Hemi thread....................