1949 Mopar More-door build

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

falconvan

$400 bux with a ton of parts, i couldn't say no. I'm going for the ultra-cheap driver. Hopefully the old flat six will run. First off is lots of cleanup.

Attachments

• 411.jpg
    411.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 200
  • 49.jpg
    49.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 167
I also have a 48 Plymouth coupe I've been building into a nice street rod for the past 4 years so they will make a good pair. I'm building the nice one for my wife; I'll take the beater.:D

It is; it looks like someone had done some restoration work on it at one time. It's been repainted and the interior had been redone although now it's definitely ready for both again. I'm planning on flat black, some really basic interior rehab, a wiring harness and 12 volt changeover along with whatever mechanical it needs to be roadworthy. Just a cheap, fun driver. I'm hoping to do the whole car for less than $1500 but we'll see. Luckily I've got a stockplie of parts for these cars from scrapping out a few of them.

Started cleaning it up and going through parts; should be fairly easy to put back together. The drivers seat doesn't have a rip in it.

Attachments

• IMG_3170.jpg
    IMG_3170.jpg
    28.6 KB · Views: 144
  • IMG_3171.jpg
    IMG_3171.jpg
    31.1 KB · Views: 148
What's wrong with the color it is now? Flat black seems to be overdone these days. As nice as that sheet metal looks, I'd just address the stuff that needs fixing and drive it like it is.

I've seen a lot less go for a lot more. I agree with some of the others, leave the sheet metal alone and put some real power under the hood and some painted steel rims and fat meats. Can you say sleeper?

Nice score, FV!:cool:

I'm gonna say, clean up the chrome and paint that's there, get it running with 12 V -, put some fat tires and small hubcaps on and drive it!!!:D