drum/drum brakes

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobt

I’m new to the sight great info!! Hope to fire-up my T-bucket soon…thought I’d better get the brakes hooked up first though, cause once it runs I won’t be able to control my self, I’ll have to put it in gear…so better have brakes…ha-ha :eek:

I have drum/drum brakes on my T-bucket. From my research I think I need 10lb residual valves front & rear and a proportion valve on rear lines. Does this sound correct?

Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do, than by the things you did. Get out there, go someplace, see something new, try something different!

Bobt welcome to RRR. The FIRST thing you need to do is post some pics of your t-bucket, then wait for someone to answer your question who knows alot more than what I do about brakes, then hook them up and video tape your inaugural ride for all of us to oogle at.:D:D

i know you're right about the residual valves- if the thing has a low mount mastercyl.-and every "t" i've seen does, then you use 10 lb. on drum and 2lb. on disc
as far as the prop. valve i honestly don't know...but i think most valves are tied with front and rear brakes to set the pressure between the two..

if you had access to one off of an old drum/drum equipped truck or car i'm sure it wouldn't screw things up too bad.:eek:

i have searched on other sites about all this when plumbing the brakes on my truck but its been awhile back..maybe a search on "automotive brake valves" if no one else has a def. answer

....cause once it runs I won’t be able to control my self, I’ll have to put it in gear… maybe I'll just go to the end of the drive....wonder if I can spin the tires...won't hurt to punch it once...
:D:D