Hot Rod how to?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShovelHeadShawn

how can i make a full fendered un chopped model a tudor look like a hot rod? i have a totally rust free 31 that i am just getting started on, and everyone is saying it is to good to chop,channel etc. i have already z'd the back, boxed and got the floor in but im just not sure it will be cool when i am done. this is my first a model and i always pictured it open fendered and chopped. any suggestions? maby i should trade for a different one

yep

it can look cool, just have to plan it right.

Later:cool:

Attachments

• thumbnailCAN7K330.jpg
    thumbnailCAN7K330.jpg
    3.3 KB · Views: 31
  • Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 024.jpg
    Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 024.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 33
  • Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 035.jpg
    Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 035.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 33
  • Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 007.jpg
    Aberdeen Car Sgow 5-10 007.jpg
    165.7 KB · Views: 33
It's all in the stance, has to set right.
Hey rex, what model T fenders are you looking for, I find lots of T sheet metal but rarely even bother bringing it home. A couple places I need to get back to have piles of it. Plus I find random T fenders almost everywhere I pick. Here's a couple bad pics of one pile.

Attachments

• Dean C 2011 001.jpg
    Dean C 2011 001.jpg
    190.3 KB · Views: 46
  • Dean C 2011 002.jpg
    Dean C 2011 002.jpg
    195.2 KB · Views: 46
How about running it without the fenders, no hood and no chop? It's easy to put the fenders back on later so you won't be "ruining" anything.

Then you can get the front & rear nice & low without having rubbing issues. I've seen a few over the years that looked great just like that.

but...who cares what they say, it's your car.